What makes Ucam absolutely private?
With Ucam, your videos are end-to-end encrypted and you alone own the encryption key — not IoTeX, not Tenvis, not anyone! That means you have full ownership and control of your videos.
Traditionally, companies issue encryption keys by giving a copy to you, while they keep a copy for themselves. With Ucam, only one encryption key (yours!) exists. It is generated in a decentralized fashion and is then stored locally on your mobile device. For more details on Ucam privacy, see this blog.
When does Ucam record and store my videos?
If and how Ucam records and stores videos can be configured in your personal settings. For example, if you decide you want to receive motion detection alerts, Ucam will record and store several seconds of footage whenever it detects motion. You may also choose to record and store rolling video footage from your Ucam. If you do not want to record and footage at all, you can choose to only use the livestream functionality.
Who can access my Ucam device and livestream video?
Ucam is registrable to only one user at a time, which means you are in full control. Want to share a video without permanently sharing access to your Ucam? Ucam allows you to securely share your livestream and saved videos, which you can revoke at any time.
Where are my video recordings stored?
Ucam is all about giving YOU control. Therefore, you can decide what works best for you: local SD card, Cloud, or decentralized storage (coming soon). Regardless of where you choose to store your videos, all video is end-to-end encrypted by the encryption key owned only by you. Even if video data is intercepted in-transit, your local SD card is stolen, or the Cloud is breached, your videos are encrypted and cannot be viewed by anyone except you.
Who can view my video recordings?
Only you and people authorized by you can view your video recordings.
How do I access and delete my video recordings?
You can access your stored video recordings, download them, and manually delete them one by one or all at once in the Ucam app. Your oldest video recordings are automatically deleted on a rolling basis to make space for new ones (you can always decide to save important recordings permanently).
Can my livestream, video recordings, or audio be accessed or shared without my knowing?
No. Your livestream and video recordings cannot be accessed by anyone unless you authorize it. Authorizing access gives view-only privileges — no one but you can share your video with anyone else. Authorizations can be revoked by you at any time.
If I request support to troubleshoot my Ucam, will my video recordings be viewed?
If you are having issues with your Ucam or video recordings, you may request assistance from Ucam customer support agents. During this process, you can download and share video recordings with agents, but this is entirely up to you. If you choose to share your videos with Ucam support agents, they will not be viewed, shared, or used for any other purpose except to troubleshoot your Ucam.
What personally identifiable information (PII) does Ucam collect?